Developing Speed #3 by Roger White

Things Learned from an NFL speed coach…

I became a speed coach almost by accident. I had an interest in exercise as a young kid and loved playing sports. I became addicted to speed and began to get books and videos on the subject. From the early beginnings, I increased my knowledge and then put it into practice. In college, I began training a college basketball player. I learned a lot of lessons then. I heard the quote to be successful, find someone who has the results you want and find out what they do. That is exactly what I did. I found one early on. He is the off-season speed coach for an NFL team. From him I learned a lot of interesting theories and concepts involving speed and sport performance.

Things Learned from an Olympic sprint coach…

 This coach had a group of 30 teenage kids from one city and 8 become world class sprinters, reaching the Olympics. How many coaches do you know have done this? This coach has had a large influence on my training programs. In fact, Part #1 of this article series was a result of his influence. One of his teachings is to put athletes into the correct position without coaching them to do so.

Powerful Speed & Acceleration Exercise #5: Medicine Ball Throws

One way to do this is medicine ball throws. Medicine ball throws provide athletes with the ability to improve explosiveness and first step quickness. I recommend younger kids perform 10-30 throws a workout using a 4-6 lb. ball, while older kids will perform as many as 30-50 throws using an 8-12 lb. ball.

Simply by knowing and applying these little-known Powerful Exercises you’ll be 99% ahead of any competitor. Here’s to your success!

Author Links
This series is reproduced with permission by Roger White M. Ed., C.S.C.S.  For more information on developing athletic speed please visit http://developingyouthspeed.com.

Leave a Reply

