Here We Go Again…

“Ban them for the whole year. I think you clean up the game by the testing. I test you, you test positive, you’re going to be out. Serious. I know that if I test positive for using any kind of substance, I know that I’m going to disrespect my family, the game, the fans and everybody. I don’t want to be facing that situation, so what I will do, I won’t use.” 

“This game has been hurt a lot already. And I don’t think this game can take any more.”

“Today I was informed by a reporter that I was on the 2003 list of MLB players to test positive for performance-enhancing substances. This happened right before our game, and the news blindsided me. I said I had no comment because I wanted to get to the bottom of this. I want to talk about this situation and I will as soon as I have more answers. In the meantime I want to let you know how I am approaching this situation. One, I have already contacted the Players Association to confirm if this report is true. I have just been told that the report is true. Based on the way I have lived my life, I am surprised to learn I tested positive. Two, I will find out what I tested positive for. And, three, based on whatever I learn, I will share this information with my club and the public. You know me — I will not hide and I will not make excuses. I want to thank my family, the Red Sox, my teammates, and the fans for their patience and support.”

The three above quotes were statements made to the media by David “Big Papi” Ortiz during 2009 on the subject of performance-enhancing substances.

Now here’s the unspun truth about Big Papi’s being “blindsided” by this “recent” news: The players (numbering more than 100) who had previously tested positive in 2003 were in fact notified years ago by the Major League Baseball Player’s Association and the commissioner’s office. This action followed an April, 2004 raid by federal authorities on the two firms involved in testing more than 1,400 samples, when federal investigators seized information including player names and related test results. Any of the players listed in those documents with positive test results were notified at that time and have only been holding their breath and stonewalling against exposure ever since.

Guess Papi really does know there’s something special in his “VitaminWater”…

One thought on “Here We Go Again…

Leave a Reply

